24
Jan
10

The Best AudioBooks, My short list.

While I had high hopes for my sponsorship relationship with Audible.com, and still do,  it will be a much harder road now that I find WordPress.com does not allow advertising, results, it seems are going to be much harder to come by than simply putting up the ad and telling you about it. I’m going to need to be creative in my attempt to herd you over to my site at Audible. The first step is going to be to set up an official website and host it elsewhere, but that takes a bit of time and I’m currently researching hosting providers. So what I want to do is give you a reason to check it out. Here is my recommended list of audiobooks, all of which are available at my Audible site. these are all books I’ve listened to more than once. That in its self should tell you all you need to know about the quality of the book and the production.

1. Haunted, by Chcuk Palahuniak – While he is probably best known for Fight Club, Chuck is a unbelievable talent. His books not only inspire writers to do something different but also leave readers in a state of shock and awe long after the reading is complete. For me this is one of his best, and time and again I’ve been drawn back to it.

2. On Writing, by Stephen King – This is not strictly a book about writing, it is also a biography, and is a very inspiring book for those wanting to learn the craft. It outlines the things good writers do to be successful, all the way from starting out, to procuring representation.

3. Lord of the Flies, by William Golding – I read this as a teenager, and later as an adult. I’ve also had the chance to hear it through the audio medium. Regardless of how you choose to experience it, you must do so. It is a classic story of a group of boys lost at sea and how they survive on a deserted island. Your life will not be complete until you experience this.

4. The Lovely Bones, by Alice Seabold – The Lovely Bones is a luminous and astonishing novel about life and death, forgiveness and vengeance, memory and forgetting – but, above all, about finding light in the darkest of places. Told in the first person it is a unique tale of one girls struggle to cope with “life” on the other side of the veil. Travel with her as she watches her family move on, even as her killer remains free.

5. Dark Rivers of the Heart, by Dean Koontz – Koontz takes alot of flack for the amazing output, some say his later works could have used a bit more attention before their release. I’m not going to comment either way on that. He has produced many more things I like than those I didn’t. That being said this is my all time favorite. It is a sweeping story about a man named Spencer Grant, he is on the run from mysterious and ruthless men. He is in love with a woman he knows next to nothing about. And he is hiding from a past he can’t fully remember. On his trail is a shadowy security agency that answers to no one, including the U.S. government, and a man who considers himself a compassionate Angel of Death. But worst of all, Spencer Grant is on a collision course with inner demons he thought he’d buried years ago – inner demons that could destroy him if his enemies don’t first.

Thats my short list for now, perhaps I’ll give you more suggestions later. Each of these can downloaded through my Audible site at discounted rates only available for listeners of my podcast. There are many other titles available. Have a look, you can’t go wrong with any of these titles.

Next week I’ll again bring you more short fiction as well as the third installment of Eyes and Knives, the podcast novel. I hope to see you then.

Thanks
Jason Warden

0 Responses to “The Best AudioBooks, My short list.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

