17
Dec
09

More time to dedicate, but less $$ to operate

http://www.ky3.com/news/local/79559992.html
Well it finally happened today. I’ve been pretty sick over the last couple of days, spent the morning attempting to get it together and finally made it to work this morning, on what was supposed to be my last day of work before our Christmas break. Things had not been good this year at the Paul Mueller Co so we were given and had planned for an extended break of three weeks. I worked half the day before our supervisors pulled us together to tell us the company was implementing a plant wide layoff. No warning, no notice, nothing whatsoever. There are rumors of callbacks after the first of the year, but with so many differing stories going around who really knows. We certainly weren’t given a reasonable explanation or plan going forward. My only guess is that some of us will be called back and offered a job at a lower wage. And since the company has, by doing it the way they have, broken the union, we will have little choice but to accept or look elsewhere for employment.  I know this isn’t the place for it but i really just wanted to vent. I’ve given 14 years of my life to this company only to be treated as disposable. I’m upset about it but I think I’m more disappointed than anything.

I guess I’ll begin circulating my resume tomorrow, but I will still post the latest story on time, you loyal listeners will not suffer because of this, and neither will the family we’ve adopted. Through the efforts of the podcast and those of my wife we have so far raised $323. My situation doesn’t even compare to theirs and I still count myself lucky. Please if you can help with the Family please do so, and keep my family and our situation in your thoughts.

Thanks you guys for listening, I’ll talk to you all tomorrow when i release “Trickery Dances” by Lee Pletzers

Jason Warden

4 Responses to “More time to dedicate, but less $$ to operate”


  1. December 18, 2009 at 12:10 AM

    Job hunting sucks.

    Last year, I got laid off from the place I’d been for a long time. Spent a month on unemployment, then got a temp-to-hire job for a fantastic company. 2 months in, I got into an accident at work, and my foot was crushed.

    After months of crutches, then months of physical therapy, I found out they had to lay off a ton of people, so they weren’t able to create a light duty position for me. I’ve been job hunting pretty hard the last couple months, so I’ve got tons of sympathy for anybody trying to find a job.

    Good luck.

    • December 18, 2009 at 2:32 AM

      Jason, very sorry to hear that. I lost my job almost two years ago. Went from good money to zip and it took over a year and a half to get a new job and it is shift work. Still, it’s money and the people there are pretty good to work with. 15,000 a year less than previous job. Sure makes a dent in expendable income.

      I’m sure you’ll get back on your feet in no time. Things look dark now, but there are clear skies in the horizon.

  2. 3 TC Parmelee
    December 18, 2009 at 5:51 PM

    OMG, I’m so sorry to hear of the layoffs. My heart goes out to you and yours.

    It wasn’t much, but I donated what I could. If you need anything, any help, please don’t hesitate to contact me. I’ll do whatever I can.

    • December 18, 2009 at 9:55 PM

      Thanks so much, I think the family we’ve adopted is going to be very pleased. My wife is delivering the donations on Monday and they don’t know yet so I think it is going to be a great surprise. Thank you for your thoughts, as for me I’ll be ok, I spent the day beating the bushes and think I have a couple of good leads. We’ll see, I’ll update my progress.

      Thanks again to all of you. The story is coming soon.


Leave a Reply

